(pp.003-011) B. Wessels ‘The independence of twelve central banks in the Southern African development community’, World Sustainable Development Outlook, 2009


Abstract: The 14 countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) endeavour the establishment of a respected and independent regional central bank as a key precondition for the envisaged monetary union. Because the member of the central banks will also have to comply with the criteria of independence, the question arises as to their progress in this direction. This chapter analyses the economic and political independence from government of 12 of these central banks. The results reveal a clear lack of independence in the majority of cases, thus indicating the pressing need for significant steps to amend the charters of these central banks.
Keywords: Central Bank Independence, Southern African Development Community, Central Bank Statutes

Outlook 2009_Wessels-Itemid=.pdf
Outlook 2009_Wessels-Itemid=.pdf

Please note, you need to be a WASD member to login and download publications. Logged-in members will see a 'Download' button in the box above.

If you do not have a login, you can register to become a member.

If you are are already a member, please login below.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.